Dragon Ball FighterZ at a Glance AKA My Morning Riding the Bench

dbfz

I spent the large portion of my morning working on music and watching people stream Arc System Works latest fighter, Dragon Ball FighterZ, which opened the doors of its beta to those that were willing to pre-order (OBVIOUSLY, NOT ME).  I’m a fan of both Dragon Ball AND fighting games, so naturally, this game has been the biggest blip on my radar since its initial announcement.  If you’ve been following the hype behind this game, you’ll know that the entire Fighting Game Community has their collective gaze transfixed upon this beta.  While it might be overstating things to call this game the “Marvel-killer,” it isn’t beyond reason to say that Capcom should be holding its breath.  With the tepid reception of Infinite’s first wave of DLC characters, and the absolutely fulminating hype of DBFZ threatening to condemn Infinite to relative obscurity, I decided to get some opinions from a couple of streamers on what is driving this movement.

On the popularity of Dragon Ball as a franchise:

“It’s gonna sell 6 million copies off the name alone.”

“You don’t expect people to know, but they do…”

“I can tell you, as a black nigga, growing up in the hood…..95% of people know what Dragon Ball is.”

On what this beta means for the FGC:

“Capcom is like….’AHHHHH SHIET'”

“It’s gonna kill Marvel; Marvel is dead”

“Honestly, I have no idea.”

On DBFZ gameplay:

“Competitive wise….it feels too casual.”

“I’m just gonna mash….the meta for this game is just mash.”

“I’m not sure I feel comfortable dashing in this game…..every time I do, it’s just…dragon rush.”

“There are a lot of stupid people playing the game right now, so it’s hard to figure out what your doing and get better at the game.”

The general opinion on the game was very positive, but this is to be expected.  Naturally, if you’re willing to pre-order, odds are that you’re partial to this type of game already.  DBFZ’s true test comes when the beta goes live for all PS4 and X1 owners January 14th, 3:00 EST.  Dragon Ball FighterZ launches Jan. 26, 2018 on PS4, Windows PC and Xbox One.

 

Follow me on Twitch @LUNARTEAM and add me on PSN: WAS-GOODIE, you can bet your ass I’ll be playing tomorrow.

Leave a comment